Thank Yous

I want to get all of my past and present favorite authors in a room and I want to hug them.

I want to say to Jo Rowling, “Thank you for making magic.”

 I want to say to Beverly Cleary, “Ramona is such a character. Thank you for that.”

I want to tell Peter Abrahams, “You’ve made me believe that writing styles can be different. Thank you.”

I want to tell Jaclyn Moriarty, “You make me laugh; you make me fall in love with characters and identify with characters and you’re so clever. Thank you for that.”

I want to tell David Levithan, “Your free verse is so beautiful and true. Thank you.”

I want to tell John Green, “You’ve completely, completely changed my life. You’ve give me hope when I’ve got none because of Looking for Alaska, you’ve made me laugh and cry and think like no other writer has. I was in a really bad place mentally in October, and then I saw your videos and picked up the books of yours I hadn’t read and suddenly I was okay again. You’ve saved me. With words.”

I want to say so many things to so many writers.

I want to become what they are to me.

Leave a Reply

